Mid-term Self Review

I believe that this technical communications class, though only halfway done, has helped me improve on many aspects of reading, writing, researching and technology. It has also shown me what I need more work at and steps that I could take to enhance those imperfections. I have always been fairly good at writing, but this course has taught me different ways to execute it, through websites, blogs and research assignments. It taught me varied methods of writing depending on audience or reader. It has also taught me new ways of interpreting things and relaying them in different ways. This course has helped me learn how to analyze what I’m reading and break it down to write a successful document.

It started with writing my resume and cover letter. I had a decent one and through the book and the peer review, it showed me how a good resume looks and showed how I format it could alter people’s perspective of it. It showed me that I had too many bullet points and I could take some out, and that some areas needed more details because to the reader it was to vague.

The professional website was something new to me. I had never made a webpage like it, and it showed me that you can put things on a site to display your interests, your resume and professional attributes to show a company or potential hire. I still need improvement on this because I am still learning how to work it and make it look appealing to who I show it too, and not like your typical myspace or facebook page.

The wikihow article was interesting too, because along with working with a group and getting other’s perspectives, it showed me how to use a language different that I’m used to. It required that we use a language that told someone how to do something, but with different tools such as pictures and steps and that is something I normally wouldn’t do. I think I could still use a little work, as with the professional website, I am new to working on pages for the internet, and I am still learning what is appropriate and appealing to the viewer and not myself.

The research memo was something new to me as well, and the book really helped me analyze my strategies and plan for my project memo. The group assessment was very helpful too because others were able to point out that the plan I chose was the best area for me. It helped me gain an understanding of what it takes to make or suggest a change in a different environment that didn’t only involve myself. I enjoyed reading about the steps it took to have a good project plan.

Overall there is still things I need to work on, mainly my skills in the technology sense, because it is new to me and I am not used to writing in an explanatory sense. I still think my analytical skills can improve and I plan on working on them on the next assignments. I believe my reading and writing is  good, but I can only get better. This course has helped me look further into researching, and actually thinking about what would need to be done to actually take a step forward in making that research a reality. I believe this course will help me in future careers and internships because it will help me effectively communicate via email, blogs and written documents.

 

 

 

Mid-term Self Review

Leave a Reply

